The first two columns of the following table provides the names of all 7 modes of the major scale and their tonal characteristics. The third column gives a ranking of the modes based on how they sound. This is the first step of studying modes. A musician needs to memorise this and remember all parts of it at any given time.


Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Notify of

[…] mode. If you are not familiar with the ranking of modes from brightest to darkest, please read this before moving onto the Mixolydian mode. One very useful thing to remember is that we will study all […]

3.0 rating